Each cell is formed by a cell body and a membrane covering the body. The covering is called the cell membrane. It is also known as plasma membrane. The cell membrane separates the cell body from the fluid surrounding the cell. The cell body has two parts namely the nucleus and the cytoplasm surrounding the nucleus (Fig. 1-1).

Thus, the structure of the cell can be studied under 3 headings namely:

i. Cell membrane

ii. Cytoplasm and

i. Nucleus.

Their Components are….

  • Secretory. vesicle
  • Lysosome
  • Rough endoplasmic reticulum
  • Ribosomes
  • Mitochondrion
  • Cell membrane
  • Microfilament
  • Golgi apparatus
  • Nucleus
  • Nucleolus
  • Centrioles
  • Smooth endoplasmic reticulum
  • Microtubule